Title 1, Part A

Title I, Part A of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) is the largest federally funded program for elementary, middle, and high schools. Money is allocated to school districts based on the number of low-income families in each district. Each district uses Title I money to provide services for children most in need of educational help.

Decatur County School System has nine schools: Bainbridge High School, NBLC, Bainbridge Middle School, Hutto Middle School, Elcan King Elementary, John Johnson Elementary, Jones Wheat Elementary, Potter Street Elementary, and West Bainbridge Elementary are school-wide Title I schools and receive additonal federal funding to support instruction.

Bainbridge High School is a Focus School and offers additional instructional support for eligible students through a Flexibile Learning Program. For more information, please visit the link under Federal Programs - Flexible Learning Program. John Johnson Elementary, Potter Street Elementary, and West Bainbridge Elementary have been identifed as 2016 Title 1 Reward Schools. For additional information about the status of individual schools, please visit www.ga.doe.

Decatur County School System are engaged in continuous school improvement as part of our responsibility with Title I funding. For more information about individual schools, please visit the school websites to view school improvement and parent involvement plans. The system comprehensive LEA plan and parental involvement plan are available to view as links under Federal Programs.

For additional information about Title I and Georgia's ESEA Waiver, please view the attached parent brochure.

Please contact Kathy Varner, Director of Federal Programs, at 229-248-2836.